Welcome Guest!
Basket
($0.00)
Free Shipping With Any $25 Purchase!
X
Offer applies to new email subscribers only.
x
  • Hair

    Ways to Shop

    • Product Type
    • Your Hair Type
    • Collection
  • Body

    Ways to Shop

    • Product Type
    • Skin Type
    • Collection
  • Skin

    Ways to Shop

    • Product Type
    • Skin Type
    • Collection
  • Collections

    Ways to Shop

    • Hair
    • Body
    • Skin
  • Offers

    Ways to Shop

    • Special Offers
    • Value Sets
    • New Arrivals
  • VIDEOS & STYLES
TODAY ONLY - FREE Tui Leave-In Conditioner with any $30 Purchase! ($14 value) SHOP NOW
All Reviews For This Product
Transitioning Kit
93% Less Shedding
Item #: 21354     
Price: $40.00
Member Price: $!RPRICEAMOUNT!
Sale: $!SALEAMOUNT!
Qty:


< Back To Product Page

Write A Review There are currently 89 review(s) for this product.
Felicia G
Houston, TX
Transition
Just started the transition to natural and used the Transition Kit products for the first time. Loved it!!! Hardly any shedding!!! I will be using this product throughout the duration of my grow out process!!!!!!
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Amazing Conditioner!!!
I am not transitioning but I go 2-3 months between relaxers and a hair color rinse. I have tried the full kit but found that the conditioner is the only thing I can use. No matter what products I have used (even CD) my hair has always come out tangled until I found this conditioner. CAROL'S DAUGHTER PLEASE, PLEASE, PLEASE sell this conditioner separately in a full size version!!!! I now use the Monoi Shampoo and the conditioner from this kit and have had no problems with tangles or breakage. Everyone's hair is different so it's important to try various items in the CD line to find what works for you. Don't be afraid to mix and match!
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Dannie G.
Owings Mills, MD
Great Product
So i decided to go natural (again)& was looking for a product to help with my over processed, damaged hair and overly dry scalp. to begin, i was elated when i placed an order for this product and it was SHIPPED on the same day :) to sweeten the deal, i received my kit in only 2 days!! of course i was eager to use the products. lets just say that the 1-2-3 guide was very easy to follow. the product made my hair very soft and manageable. the only downfall is that i didnt know their was a kit with the oil infusion product. i know i will be ordering that soon!
2 of 3 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Kasana Banks-Quarles
Piscataway, NJ
Convinced
I was extremely skeptical of this product because of the price especially after trying so many other products. I'm in my seventh month of transitioning and all of a sudden products that were working in months 3-5 are no longer. I was ready to give up on my hair until I read reviews for this and decided to buy it. This kit is heaven sent! I first used Lisa's hair elixir as a pre-poo as I have low porosity Haifa that retains moisture better from hot oil treatments and deep conditioners rather than hair butters, etc. the shampoo was very cleansing but did nog over dry my hair. The spray was amazing. I noticed a few flakes in my hair that rinsed out so the spray really helped my scalp. The conditioner was great leaving my hair soft, conditioned and moisturized. I will definitely continue to use this for the long haul.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
I'm In WUV
This made my hair super soft and manageable. The comb ran through sooo smooth. No tangles. This make transitioning a smooth process for me. Its worth the money. I wish I had known earlier, all this time and money I wasted on BSS that never worked. The natural BSS products didn't do me the same. Carol's Daughter all day every day thank you !!
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
AMAZING EXPERIENCE!!!
I started transitioning in July 2013, it is May 2014 and this kit has saved my hair life!!! My hair has not broken off at all because of this kit! The shampoo included rids your scalp of dirt and oils without drying it out, while adding moisture. The exfoliating spray healed my scalp of all the damage that many yrs of getting relaxers have done to my hair. The spray acts just like a medicine and it rids your scalp of dandruff. The conditioner works amazing and it moisturizes your hair drastically. transitioning has been a breeze with this product. In June I will be cutting off the last two inches of my hair, and my transitioning process will be done.
9 of 10 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Do I also use a shampoo and deep conditioner with this kit ?
This is the second time in a month that I'm using this kit and I love it so far. I'm into 4 months transitioning and I can attest that my hair has less breakage since I started. I'm just not sure if I should only use this kit to wash my hair or should I also use a shampoo and conditioner then use the kit after that . I search in the web and YouTube and could not find an answer to that . Before I started this kit, I uses to wash my hair with shampoo every two weeks . Can someone please help me to better understand how to take care of my hair because I don't want to transition the wrong way. Thank you.
1 of 1 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Don't transition without this kit!
I definitely recommend using this kit when you go from chemical treated hair to natural. When I chopped off just about all my hair I had this dry fro. When I used this kit it put back a lot of moisture into my hair which helped calmed it down so it wasn't so puffy. The first time that I transitioned was several years ago and unfortunately for me I didn't use Carol's Daughters hair products so of course I ended up going back to the salon to put a chemical straightener in my hair. I lost hope in wearing my hair natural because I felt like nothing could moisturize my hair. This time I started my transition with the kit, marguerite's hair magic, leave in conditioner and the co wash cleanser. Moisture, moisture, moisture in the beginning is important.
14 of 15 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
AWESOME!!!!!
I have not had a perm in 5-6 months. I was ready to give up on my natural journey . I am doing the grow out transition. So I started reading about this product a few days ago. I decided to purchase the Transition Kit 1-2-3 on 2*18*2014 and I must say I love it. The smell needs some improvement but the results are great. I have a salon look. Very full, and healthy looking. I will finish my kit and check back in about a month.
13 of 14 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Quinita
Jackson, MS
awesome
I love this set... I could tell a difference in my hair from the first time. The shampoo is a great cleanser for removing all build up. The spray is a favorite of mine. The cooling sensation is amazing. Step 3 is the best part of the kit. It immediately changed the texture of my hair. I've Just made the big chop and this product gave me no regrets. My curl pattern with the help of this kit has me sooo excited!!! Will reorder!! I've even convinced my mom to make the big chop transition with me.
7 of 8 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
elcie solon
malden, MA
Carol's Daughter Monoi Split End Threat 3-piece Hair Set
my hair was damaged after a relaxer can I use this to help make my hair healthy again
0 of 1 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Gloria D.
Houston, TX
Great Product
OMG!!!! I was so pleased to finally find a product that does what it says it will do. I almost gave up on transitioning because my hair was so dry and brittle. After just one use, my hair is so soft, easy to manage and the smell is great. I have no doubt my transition will be a smooth one thanks to Carol's Daughter.
41 of 43 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Monika Jean-Philippe
Tampa, FL
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!
I absolutely love using this product in my hair! I will admit I have only used it once but that first time it worked like a charm!!! I applied the 3-step treatment to my hair and followed all the directions on the box. I will say that I choose to NOT to do a big chop with my hair while I'm transitioning back to natural, I prefer to grow it out of the relaxer. Before using this product and when I used to just wash my new growth, it was rough and soooooooo badly tangled after just 2 days. This just made me not want to even touch my hair. now after just ONE use I'm able to comb through my hair with little effort. The breakage is almost to none existent and I can run a comb through my hair without feeling like I just went bold! So far I am in love with this product and I can't wait to start using the olive oil infusion kit to keep in my hair's moisture in, this is the first time I am actually excited about even touching my hair let alone doing something to it. THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!
11 of 12 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Dionne Yates
Waldorf, MD
So Refreshing
I am deployed overseas, so you can imagine some difficulty that I am having over here. I ordered the Transitioning kit and it is amazing! It made my hair feel so soft, refreshed, and light. I have been transitioning now for 7 months and could not find a product that worked for my hair. This product works wonders and I encourage anyone that is transitioning to use it. It will make your hair very manageable and smell really good. I do want to say thank you for delivering to us overseas, it is very much appreciated!!
10 of 11 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Ella Polk
Elizabethtown , KY
I love it
I love it!! I like the way the transition kit makes my scalp tingle. I am currently transitioning my hair from relaxed to natural. So, I'm still at the beginning of my journey. I bought the transition kit over a month ago and I use it once a week. It would be hard for me to use every time I wash my hair. I very thankful for Carols Daughter to provide great hair care products for all types of hair.
8 of 9 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Myra Golden
Broken Arrow, OK
All-inclusve cleansing and conditioning system and it goes very far
What I like best about this system is that it's all inclusive. You have your cleanser, healthy scalp treatment and deep conditioner all here. I was amazed at how far the products go. My daughter and I are both transitioning and one kit lasted more than 2 months with weekly washing, as you don't use very much at a time. The scent is amazing and the 3 steps of cleansing, treating your scalp, and deep conditioning under the dryer make you feel like you're treating your hair very well. My hair and my daughter's hair comes out tangle free, silky smooth and smelling wonderful. We are both 4 months post-relaxer and I see us using this Kit for the duration of our transition journey.
36 of 37 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
NEW TO NATURAL
I am using the Carol's Daughter transition kit, and it is amazing. I can feel a big difference in my new growth and also relaxed hair. I have used the product twice so far and would definitely recommend! I can't stop touching my hair because of how clean, soft, and nourished it feels. Lol, I wasn't expecting the bottles to be so smal.. but I am learning a little goes a long way!!! I love this product as a new transitionee!!
58 of 60 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
teemdubya
somewhere in, LA
"Surprised" update: Still loving it 18 months later!
I'm the 4C person that wrote the review titled "Surprised" back in March of 2012. Its now June 2013 and I'm still using this product. My hair got to a comfortable length I had my stylist cut the majority of my relaxed end off march of this year, 2013 to celebrate my 1 year of being relaxer free. That took me to just below earlobe length hair with about an inch of relaxed ends remaining. Now in June I'm at top of collar length so will probably get rid of the rest of those relaxed ends soon. I just don't feel my 4C hair would have made it this far without this product. It gave my scalp the cleansing it needed without drying out. I used in tandem with the Olive oil infusion and also the monoi kit. Usually using 1-2-3 one week a month and using olive oil kit one week a month and monoi kit 2 weeks a month. My hair is so thick now until I really have to dig in there to find my scalp to use the spray, LOL. I see from the reviews its not for everyone, and that is to be expected. If you're a 4C locate my original review titled Surprised for some tips on how to avoid tangling when using the products with partially relaxed hair. For those that feel its drying try pretreating your hair with coconut or olive oil before washing. For those in the beginning stages, hang in there. Its a long journey but you will so appreciate the end results, now that most of that relaxed hair is gone tangling is not the issue it was for me in the beginning. It still tangles, that is my hair type, but its doesn't knot on itself so I can easily detangle... that will make sense to 4Cs. Even though my relaxer is for the better part gone now I'm sure I will continue to use this product once a month. I let my stylist use the monoi kit on me but do this one and the olive oil infusion kit I do myself to ensure its done the way I like it which can take a bit of time. Enjoy the journey!
18 of 19 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
T Jeter
Brooklyn, NY
Does What it Says
When I first used this product, I wasn't sold on it. I had just taken out microbraids and I felt like the product wasn't doing what it advertised it would do. I had such a hard time detangling my hair that I almost did the Big Chop. However, the second time I used it, I fell in love. I realized that the first time I probably had way too much product buildup from weeks of having the braids. Also, any black girl knows that whenever you take braids out, detangling it after a wash is close to impossible. The second time around, I was able to finger detangle my hair with the shampoo and the treatment (step #3) as promised. I loved that the spray (step #2) made my scalp feel like it was sucking on a peppermint. I plaited my hair and let it air dry and it is so silky and soft and even has bounce. I no longer dread washing my transitioning hair.
11 of 12 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Charlotte R Hall
Greensboro, NC
Refresh, Renew, Revive!
I am loving this product. This is the cleanest my hair has felt in some time. I love the cooling sensation of the mint and for someone who is allergic to sulfur I appreciate that these products don't use that ingredient to cool the scalp. I was a bit skeptical half way through because when I sprayed the spray my hair got kind of brittle feeling O but wait! by step three my hair felt as smooth as a baby's bottom. I love this product!! Truly made with LOVE!!
1 of 1 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING AMAZING PRODUCT!
This is a must buy! I'm not a big chopper or transitioner but it makes my hair sooo soft!!!! I LOVE IT!
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Charlotte R Hall
Greensboro, NC
Packaging and Product
So I am a "blue lover". My whole life is made up of the color blue so initially I was attracted to this kit due to the color of it. I would like to do a review of the product and packaging. I have seen several youtube videos about this product and mostly all people have to say is that the bottle are too small. WELL I beg to differ. :) I am a big chopper and this kit will easily last me a few months if not more. Which also gives me time to save to purchase another one!! The more hair you have the more product you have to use, so you ladies who havent done a BIG CHOP! GO FOR IT! and save some product BE BRAVE! I love the sizes of the bottles and the product in ounces is PERFECT!! I almost think im getting more that the ounces on the bottle, their so filled. I appreciate the small booklet that comes in the box as well, AWESOME TIPS for someone like me who is still getting ot know my hair. It was very educational as well. I will do a second review on the product after I use it...LETS SEE WHAT YA GOT!! :)
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Lindsay T.
New Orleans, LA
This Product Is Amazing
I have been transitioning for 9 months now. It has been so hard for me to find products that made my hair easy to comb through and give me minimal shedding. I attended the CD healthy hair tour at my school Clark Atlanta University and I received this kit for free. I used it thag weekend. This product was GREAT and the smell is amazing. My hair was so managable I couldn't believe it. I've been wearing protective styling since but I cant wait to use this product again. My hair was soft, detangled, and honestly I can still spell the product in my hair a month later. I'm not sure if that's good or bad lol. But everyone has different hair textures so I think this product is worth trying for those who are skeptical because they've read some confusing reviews. Go for it.
7 of 8 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Roneisha McLendon
New Orleans, LA
So far, so great!
I am new to transitioning and even with relaxers I have always had a difficult time with tangles, breakage and shedding. I've recently discovered the Transitioning Kit and my hair is thanking those who developed this product! My hair was much easier to comb through, is soft, manageable and I have a totally new outlook on surviving this transitioning process. Thank you Lisa Price
5 of 6 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Nurse Pom
BayShore, NY
This is it!!!!
This is my go to product .....It is truly the foundation of my new transformation of natural hair. It changed my life I'm so happy!!!! Soft manageable hair every time!!! It smells so good!!!!! Price is a bit much so I pair it with other products like the hair milk cowash this and some other shampoos help to stretch it out.... Begging for bigger bottles......
3 of 4 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Michele
Accokeek, MD
The best CD's product ever!!!!
This kit does everything it promises! A bit pricey but this is the best shampoo and best conditoner I have ever used period! Less shedding, after washing my hair I can run my fingers right through my hair! Same with the conditioner! Please please please make the full size available! I've been natural for about 3.5 years and still love this kit! Can't wait for the full size version....it is truly amazing....you won't be disappointed!
15 of 16 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Confident Newbie
I love the fact that CD offers a transition kit! My daughter and I are both transitioning. All three comments of the kit worked well on my daughter's hair. I've suffered from dandruff for years so I loved, the invigorating feeling from the low poo cleanser and the renewing scalp spray felt so good on my scalp. The conditioner made my hair feel so soft and it really detangled my hair. However, after shampooing with the low poo cleanser my hair was rather tangled. I was able to comb through it after adding the anti-breakage treatment. This is the first time I used Carols daughter products. Overall, this was a pleasant experience and I have confidence my hair will be healthy as I take this big step towards transitioning
15 of 16 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Von
Houston, TX
Left my hair feeling like it was stripped of moisture
I have been transitioning for about 7 months now. Just like most people theres so much to choose from now concerning natural hair. Several of my friends have mentioned your products, so after several years I finally bought some. I bought about 7 different products of yours from Macy's. The transitioning kit left my hair dry feeling. The shampoo left my hair feeling stripped compared to other shampoos, after using the conditioner my hair felt a little better. The products in the transitioning kit smells like medicine. Please think of having your chemists revisit this kit and come out with the "new and Improved" version. I enjoyed all other product purchased.
10 of 13 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Brianna Feagin
Olathe, KS
It is worth the time and money!!
Well as a college student I do not have much TIME or MONEY and this product is definitely worth it!! I have been transitioning for about 5 months and had no clue what to do and didn't know to many people who just grew their hair out. But I must say this kit has worked it really does MINIMIZE BREAKAGE compared to using other shampooing products and that was on the FIRST USE!!! I will be honest and say the first time it was tough to part my for step two but the second time my hair parted so easily! I did was my hair for two weeks with other products and noticed an EXCESS of BREAKAGE so I went back to the kit! The only set back is that it is TIME CONSUMING and washing my hair in a sink in a dorm is not ideal. But the TIME IS WORTH IT!!!
6 of 7 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Transitioning 123
I bought this product back in December and finally had the chance to use it and I must say I love it. I hair has always been course but after using this product my hair feels so soft. Going through my natural journey I want to put a relaxer in my hair so bad because I can't manage it. But I am so glad I bought this product and I look forward to buying it again. Thanks one happy customer.
6 of 8 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
shannon bragg
Yonkers, NY
EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED !!!!
First let me start off by saying that i am a newly transitioner 4 months in and i have type 4a and 2b hair type my new growth grows extremely fast and thick and is highly unmanageable however when i came across this product i thought it'd help me with the process ii was wary about it from the reviews but hey whats the worst that can happen ? WRONG ! As soon as i put the "gentle"cleanser in my hair it immediately dried up ii didn't even fully work it through my hair was so stripped and brittle. the 2nd step was okay wasn't as harsh as the first step but didn't do much to help with my texture. The last step was okay i absolutely love Korment Amen and other smoothies better than the conditioner in this kit. Further more i will be returning this product i highly recommend trying a different product or a different line from Carols Daughter dont believe the hype and for the price the amount you pay for is just simply not worth it.. Very disappointed
8 of 14 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Good Transitioning Product
I really like step 2 it feels like a smoothie on your hair and it tinglescalp. I enjoy the step 3 it moisturizes my hair and it feelso so after I wash it out. The only thing I don't like is step 1 is because it doesn't detangle my hair as I would like it, and it dries my hair after I wash it .
9 of 10 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Victoria Bryant
Morristown, TN
I've been transitioning with diffculty
I started to transition about 7 months ago. I relaxed around June and then a couple of weeks later I colored my hair. It was a permanent dye and I lost a lot of hair in the back. I kept putting off getting a touch up because I didn't want to cause anymore damage. I tried transitioning last year and I gave up when my hair became unmanageable. So, today I tried the kit. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was because it wasn't as easy to detangle until I got to step 3. My hair is so light. My new growth is soft and moisturized. When I finished applying the kit I followed with Tui leave in moisturizer and Healthy Hair Butter. The scents are wonderful and my hair is soft and conditioned without being greasy or weighed down. My hands also feel wonderful! They're soft and moisturized! I'm going to make a commitment to follow this regimen for the next 6 weeks, get a trim and then determine if I want to do the BC!
3 of 4 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Not what I was expecting
I really wanted to love this product but unfortunately it just did not work for me. I have been a CD customer for about a decade and I love her products this however misses the mark. I am currently transitioning, my last relaxer was almost 7 monthes ago. The shampoo left my hair very wirey, tangled and dry feeling and OMG the shrinkage. My husband was like Wooooo. The second step was no better it did have a cooling affect but my hair still felt and looked a hot mess. I can not say it enough the tangles this caused in my hair, it was bad ya'll. Anywho step 3 did soften and loosen the curls up a lil bit, not to my liking or what i am used to when using my other products which cost a fraction of what this kit cost. Needless to say I will not be reusing :( I had such high hopes but this kit just did not work for me at all.
14 of 17 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Jennifer Musgrove
Verona, PA
From amazing to awesome!
I have been using this product since july 2012. I must say this product is simply amazing. My hair (BSL) is very soft and manageable, everything the kit promised has definitley been fulfilled. I did have to learn a few tricks to help my hair tho. First, since i have long/thick hair i make sure i section my hair off in 4 sections. I detangle it with my fingers starting at the ends of my hair if its tangled. if not i begin to pre-wash.I make sure to do a pre-wash using the khoret amen oil and cream (i don a platic cap and another that has aluminum foil on the inside which helps keep in the heat) and let it stay in my hair for at least an hour. the pre-washing using the khoret amen allows my hair to soak up the product and detangle the new growth more easily thus i can shampoo it better without tangles. Next, i shampoo using either black vanilla hair smoothie deep conditioner or my hair one shampoo (its the same as Wen lol). in my journey ive learned its best to switch shampoos around from time to time so that their effectiveness wont decrease for my hair. After i shampoo the khoret amen out of my hair, i make sure i detangle if need be again by using the water in the shower (yeah place that hair right in the water!) then i use step one. i learned that if i didnt use my fingers/water to detangle my hair through steps 1-3 it would get VERY tangled, like forming knots even. Before doing step 2, i learned to leave the water in my scalp then dry only the my ends with a cotton towel, leaving my scalp with the water. this helped prevent tangles from forming as i parted my hair for step 2. For those having trouble, just remember to detangle using water and your fingers. also try leaving the product in for a longer period of time. its also good to do research on sulfates vs. sulfate- free products. sulfate free products like CD, WEN etc wont create a lather.
12 of 16 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Shariff
Philadelphia, PA
Loving my hair once again
I 1st found out about Carol's Daughter after looking in an Ebony mag. And said I wonder how this kit will work for me..many times I went back and fourth about purchasing this product for months until I finally gave in after trying the monoi line, black vinilla, rose mary mint and the chocolat' line I just feel in love with how well they worked on my hair, I really was happy when I put the order in and when it was delivered I was like a big kid in a candy store I counldnt wait to try it and when I did my hair was soft full of life.. it felt great and the smell was great my friend couldn't stop saying how much he loved the body my hair had and the smell...lol I love it just love it next I'll purchase the olive oil treatment....all in all its a great product I would read other reviews before and say these people are making this stuff up lol I'm sold its all true so go buy it...lol
5 of 6 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
This Kit and My Hair Doesn't Get Along !
So Today Ive Decided To Use This Product. I Thought It Was Going To Be AMAZING. I Literally Worried My Mother To Buy Me This Kit. When I Used Step One , I Was Literally Not Liking It All. I WAS VERY DISAPPOINTED In Step One. My Hair Was A WILD JUNGLE ! It Was Tangled Like Crazy. After The Tangled Mess, I Looked At My Scalp and I Had White Residue All Inside My Head. It Took Me 4 Washes To Get This Stuff Out ( White Residue ). The ONLY Steps I Like Are 2 and ESPECIALLY 3. Step One Is Not For My Thin/Fine Hair. Also It Made My Hair Shed and Break Off A little. I Will Not Use Step One of This Kit Again.
2 of 6 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Loved it
I am transitioning and did not want to do the big chop. I tried to in the past and gave up. This kit has really helped me. I saw a huge difference with this vs. regular shampoo/conditioner. My hair did not tangle and easier to manage. I take the kit with me to the salon each week and have the stylist apply it. I am hoping that once I get more new growth I will have more options than flat ironing. Unfortunately, I have not used step 2 in the kit because I am usually pressed for time so my scalp gets very itchy. Step 2 is supposed to help that. My only complaint is size of bottles. I am almost out of products after 3 washes.
8 of 10 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Too harsh
This product left my hair very dry. It is a good cleasner, but is too harsh. It stripped my hair of any moisture.There is not enough moisturizer mixed in the products. Unfortunately I will have to give the kit a big thumbs down. I will not buy again.
6 of 10 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Sherly
Quebec, QC
Incroyabe
Je vis en Haiti et durant mon passage à Québec, j'ai commandé quelques produits pour faciliter ma transition. J'ai acheté ce produit et depuis lors mes cheveux sont très souples, faciles à démêler, doux au toucher. C'est just wowww. J'adore tout simplement et je suis une passionnée des produits Carol'daughter. Je recommande fortement ce produit pour toute personne qui fait une transition. Thanks a lot.
5 of 8 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
RIna
Queens, NY
Transitioning No more
I started transitioning just about a year ago, and I think I am done! No really I'm done, I cut out the last of the relaxed hair 2 weeks ago. I have an amazing 6 inches of real natural growth. And I have to say I could not have done it without the CD transitioning Kit. I discovered it about 6 months into the brutal process when I really was at my wits end. I have been using it faithfully once a week ever since. I will continue to use it, my hair is still fragile especially at the ends. Also the Blow Dry cream to keep my hair straight and silky smooth.
15 of 16 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
GREAT !
Hey ! I'm only 13 and my mom is allowing me to go natural ! I just bought this kit yesterday and it is FABULOUS !!! It makes your roots really soft along with all of your relaxed hair ! I've only been going for 12 weeks and I can feel my curly roots ! It also smells GREAT ! I think you should buy this product if you are going from relaxed to natural ! =]
24 of 25 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Strength to transition
I have been transitioning for the last five months and this is the third time I have tried to go natural. Usually would get to the third or fourth month and go to my stylist with tears and beg for a relaxer. My sister gave me this kit to help and I am very pleased with the results - the shampoo really cleans and my hair feels soft but it is extremely tangled after the shampoo that I need to put a conditioner on it just to get a comb through it(I have been putting my old conditioner on to detangle, then rinse this out and proceed to set two). Step 2 really makes my scalp feel rejuvenated and the final step -conditioner really defines my natural curl. I no longer have that brittle part between the relaxed hair and natural hair and this has given me the strength to continue with my transition and it has drastically reduced the breakage. Also Using the Macadamia Serum and the Chocolat shampoo, conditioner and blow dry cream and each time I use these 3 someone will ask if I gave up on going natural - very sleek afterwards but the transition kit gives me the healthy look and feel. Just purchased another transition kit because it is working(only downside is tangling after shampoo).
109 of 113 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Tynecia
Baltimore, MD
Transitioning made EASY!
I have not had a perm almost 1 full year and decided to go natural. This kit was recommend in the store and I must say this is better than a perm. I have not used heat in my hair and only use a comb to make parts, my hair is so MANAGEABLE!!! I love the renewing scalp spray. I use more than a walnut size of the purifying extra gentle cleanser I don't know if you should put more depending on your thickness but I LOVE THE kit
17 of 18 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Shantia Jones
Baltimore, MD
SAVED MY JOURNEY
I have been transitioning my hair since April 2012. I use protective styles to help with the transitioning , while washing my hair on a weekly bases. This past Saturday I washed my hair and it was a TANGLED MESS. I broke down crying while combing my hair out. I was at the breaking point and was ready to just do the Big Chop to get it over with! The problem with that is it's getting cold in Baltimore and plus I have always had a really nice length of hair. I have been looking at Carol's Daughter Transitioning kit for the past three months but kept putting off buying the product and continued using the same products that I used on my relaxed hair. But after last weekend's experience I made my way to a local store that sold the product. This product saved My Journey! After using the first step of the kit I noticed a complete difference. I was able to just finger though my hair with easy and the couple of spots that was a little tangled came right out. My hair ended up so soft and easy to manage. I will be using this product for the next couple of months while I still transition and I am looking forward to using some of the other products as well!
44 of 46 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Michelle
Highland, IN
LOVE IT!!!!
I am transitioning and my scalp has been extremely itchy. This product has dramatically reduced the itching. This transitioning process has not been easy, but this product has made it better.
91 of 95 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Patricia Love Rochell
Bloomington, IN
*Gives Me Hope* :)
One thing I can say about this kit is that it does a GREAT JOB at defining what's the natural hair and what isn't. Even though i'm sort of in the beginners rut where I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT TO DO W/ MY DAMAGED HAIR, the one thing that is keeping me motivated to stick it out, is touching my roots and feeling the wave patterns in my new-growth. My last perm was AWHILE AGO, but not exactly a year yet, and after the second time using the 1-2-3 Transitioning Kit, I can feel what natural hair I have so easily and it just feels wonderful. When i'm just sitting down watching tv or i'm bored, I feel my wavy newgrowth and get so happy, because I can picture what it's going to look like when I get that big chop. Basically, I can just feel that my new growth is being taken care of :) And my relaxed hair too....even though I CAN'T WAIT to chop it off :) Another thing is that my scalp has been burned badly from perms and i have a problem with picking at it, so i never let it heal. But I broke myself of that a bit over month ago, which allowed it to start healing properly and once I started using the Scalp Spray, it was different. I can FEEL the healing process happening and my scalp isn't dried out, compared to when I was using Head&Shoulders and it was just healing. The dryness made it so hard to not pick and scratch hard because it itched SOOOO BAD! Now it still itches a bit, because that's just what burns and scars do when they're healing and scabbing over, but now it's bearable. Which I REALLY APPRECIATE :)
12 of 13 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Ahhhh-Mazing!!
I absolutely NEVER write reviews, but after using this kit, I just have to share how awesome it is!! I was very hesitant to buy it just because I am newly transitioning, so I haven't really hit that frustration point yet, but decided to get it just to try it out. My hair has not felt this soft and healthy in a very long time! I was worried after using step 2, the scalp treatment, because my hair felt and looked really frizzy, but the conditioner...whoa baby!!! My husband even commented on the softness of my hair, and I LOVE the way it smells!!!
13 of 14 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTING :(
So I've been transitioning since March 2012 and growing up my mom would periodically buy the Carol's Daughter Hair Milk whenever my hair just looked really dry. I'm currently in college and I bought this because I thought it would make the process a lot easier... MY HAIR WAS JUST COMING OUT!!! Thank God I have really thick hair because I would be screwed otherwise. The shampoo made my hair dry brittle and straw like... my hair was hard and I had white clumps of who knows what in my hair so I had to rise like 5 times. I liked step two but I had a hard time putting it in my hair because of STEP 1 -_-. The conditioner made up for a lot, probably the best thing in the box. My hair felt soft when I was rising it out but I still had to put my regular moisturizers to get my hair back to normal. I read on the box and the shampoo has more hydrolyzed wheat protein than the conditioner does so if your hair hates protein like mine STAY AWAY FROM THIS.
9 of 13 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
RAYNEESHA ADAMS
WESTFIELD, NJ
Excellent Detangler
I am 7 months into the transition, and a protective styler I wear sewins. Recently i took the weave out and it was time to do a deep cleaning and conditioner. I used the black vanilla shampoo, when I was done there was a huge knot in my hair and it was tangled so I think duh i shouldve used my transitioning kit anyway. so i whip it out, step 1 was amazing i began to shampoo my hair and 2 min later it was literally soft and i was able to detangle it with my fingers. this stuff is an amazing hair saver!
6 of 7 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Nathalie
Queens, NY
amazing kit
I'm so happy I decided to buy this transitioning kit. I've tried in the pass to stop relaxing my hair however after four or five months I would give up. So once again I decided it's time to go natural and my biggest motivation was I had a cyst on my scalp that got infected and when I went to the doctor he brought up a good point, he said we women constantly put chemicals in our hair and some time it may cause hair follicles to get infected. So after my surgery in February 2012, I made my final judgment to no longer relax my hair, my last relaxer was December 2011, I’ve been relaxer free for about 9 months now. So now I had to figure out how to stay committed to my new change, I went online and found all kinds of deep conditioner and moisturizers and I wasn't fully satisfied and then Transitioning 1-2-3 came out and I was a little hesitate on purchasing this kit but I figured what have I got to lose. Anyways I've been using this product for a while now and I LOVE it! It has definitely help me untangle my hair better with less breakage and my hair feels softer and more manageable. The conditioner is the best and wish it was sold separately or at least in a bigger bottle. I'm doing the long grow out for now since I don't feel ready to do the big chop so I will definitively be buying my second kit soon. Thank you so much Lisa for this great product!!
66 of 70 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Was not impressed
I purchased this product last month. I have been transitioning for a little over a year now and thought this product would be perfect for my hair. I was wrong. After using these the transitioning items in the box, my hair was hard and unmanageable with absolutely no moisture. While washing, the shampoo would not quite lather in my hair, even after washing three times. I thought I didn't do something correctly; so, I tried the items again the next day. I followed the directions step by step. But, I had the same bad result. I was told by a CD representative that the shampoo wasn't really meant to lather due to its ingredients. However, she did recommend using the Tui line of products. I must say that I am pleased with the representative's recommendation. I now see the good results that reviewers rave about in these posts. Unfortunately, I did not achieve those results with this transitioning product.
7 of 11 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Surprised
The first time I used this I allowed my stylist to use it on my hair. She wasn't impressed with it at all. The second time I used it on my own hair myself and I liked it alot. The one thing we both agree on though is the conditioner is AWESOME. Please sell it by itself! I would love to pair it with my monoi shampoo. A tip to transitioners. I divide and braid my 4C hair in to 4 or 6 big braids, then I wash, condition, etc you just have to be sure to rinse really, really well. Then I unbraid one section at a time and blow dry (if I'm blow drying) or roller set. This way I don't have a tangled mess to deal with. The tangles come from the straight relaxed hair getting tangled on it self. If you wash it braided you don't have that issue. I've been relaxer free since March. My hair has grown from the nape of neck length to should length and its only September. I keep it in protective styles most of the time except for special occassions. I use this kit, Olive Oil infustion kit and the monoi line. I also use Tui leave in spray and tui oil. Sometimes I use the Hair Honey and the creme hairdress, can think of the name right now. Anyway I'm pretty much sticking to Carol Daughters and is getting the results I want as far as growth. I don't know what I will do once all of the relaxer is gone but at least I now have a path to get me there!
11 of 12 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
YolandaG
Elk Grove, CA
Amazing Product
I am in my 5month of transitioning and spluged on this product because I began using strictly Carols Daughter since I started. I love the step 3 conditioner...It literally cut through my already coarse hair...I try it every other week, alternating with the Tui line...
15 of 17 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
AKEISHA PHILLIPS
FLUSHING, NY
I'm hurt
I've started my transition in March of this year. I've read the ranting reviews on this product so I decided to try it. On my first and final try I was heart broken. I followed the directions to a T and I don't know what happened. My hair was below my collar bone before the use of this product. After using it my hair is now below my earlobes? My hair was so knotted and tangled up after using this product there was no way of detangling my hair. I've tried every method and nothing worked. Devastated and crying I had to cut out the tangles. I wanted to do a long term transition with my length but now I have to wear a protective hair style. I am so disappointed and hurt with this line. Maybe I got a bad batch I don't know but I was really looking forward for this line to get me through my journey. The shampoo and scalp exfoliant made my hair dry and brittle. The conditioner did not help at all with the detangling. I'm hurt.
17 of 22 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Carnie
Philadelphia, PA
A miracle
This set is truly a miracle. I havebeen using it for a good month now, I have just returned to buy my 2nd set. Money went spent let me tell you. My hair is soooo manageable and soft - I really didn't even know it could feel this way it had been so long!!!
15 of 18 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Danielle
Dumfries, VA
Happy Dancer
LOVE this kit! My favorite item was the conditioner. My hair was so silky and tangle free after using it. I have to be very particular with the conditioners I use because I have nut allergies. Many conditioners have nut oils in them and if I take the risk of using them I risk developing severe, possible life threatening, reactions. So when I read the ingredients of the kit I did a happy dance! This product is fabulous for naturals with nut sensitivities.
5 of 6 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Smells good but NOT good for hair!
I was SO disappointed after receiving and using this product. I am in the transitioning phase, stumbled across Carol's Daughter products online and decided to give it a try. Before the product came in the mail I had talked to two different natural hair stylists at two different salons and asked if they had heard of the product. Both stylists warned me that Carol's Products will leave my hair dry and brittle. They also said that when I try the product I will see exactly what they are talking about and boy were they telling the truth! I have SUPER thick hair, I mean super thick but I have never had a problem with the shampoo I'm using not cleansing my hair until I used the transitioning kit. I almost had to use half of the bottle just to get a good lather and good wash. After I rinsed it out my hair instantly felt like I had just rinsed out a relaxer...dry and brittle. Typically I use Pantene to wash my hair and my hair always feel so moisturized after rinsing it out. I can even go without conditioner after washing with Pantene but that would be a definite no with this transitioning kit. I am returning the kit back today and will never waste my money or time on Carol's Daughter products again. Professionals know that this brand is no good.
6 of 11 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Andrea L.
Chattanooga, TN
CD's 1-2-3 is awesome!
I've been using the Transitioning kit for a little over a month now and I am very impressed with the results. My last perm was in April 2012, but in I've received so many compliments on my hair since using the kit. Not only does my hair feel silky smooth, but that conditioner is truly amazing and breakage is now at a minimum. I have learned to thoroughly rinse my hair with each step but this product really works. I also use the Black Vanilla leave-in conditioner which works wonders for tangles as my natural hair grows in. I am thrilled to have made it through the summer without a perm, and I will continue using CD. Keep up the great work!
5 of 7 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
June
New Orleans, LA
Wow
I am overwhelmed by the results I got from this kit. I have been transitioning for 6 months and I have to say I didn't thik it was going to be this hard. I was really struggling with my tangled mess of a fro. I have used this kit twice now - and while don't get me wrong - this crazy path I am on is still hard, whoowee, at least now i can get my fingers thru my hair. And that really helps, you know what I'm saying.
7 of 8 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Free my Scalp!!!!
I have recently decided to go Natural!! Im doing the long grow out then the chop. So I stumbled across this product. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this Set. I have very bad dandruff. So bad that after I would wash my hair I would have patches of dandruff across my hairline and I havent even dried my hair yet. I even went to the dermatologist and received a bottle of help which did not work. But after using this product Its been a week and I havent seen a danruff yet!!! I love how I can feel step two working, it felt like it was healing my scalp!!! LOVE!!! Im so excited about this kit!!
4 of 5 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Transitioning
I have decided to go natural and to go the long grow out way. I used this kit for the first time. My is a little below my shoulder. I found that best thing in this kit is the conditioner. Oh my goodness it is amazing. CD needs to sell the conditioner by it's self, it's that amazing. The scalp spray treatment felt good but it made my hair tangle. The shampoo is light and nice. Overall I enjoyed the kit but I believe the conditioner makes the kit. I decided that I would wash and treat my hair at home and use the salon just to roller set and style. The end results after my hair was roller set was soft and shiny. I will continue to use the kit but I could just use the conditioner along with other products to maintain strong healthy hair as I transition to my natural healthy strands.
116 of 120 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Shelita Bates
Baton rouge, LA
GREAT PRODUCT!!!!!
I'm a person that never writes reviews, but this product was so amazing I felt compelled to write one. I have been amazed with this product! I used it on my two daughters that are transitioning ( ages 11 and 14). They have different hair types, so I usually buy different products for each of them. Carols daughter transitioning system worked well for both of them. The only problem I've noticed with them both is some tangling between step 1 and step 2. Their hair becomes extremely soft and completely managable after step 2, then step 3 is like that icing on the cake. They love the scent of this product and the cooling sensation to their scalp. I've been completely natural for 21 months now. I became a product junkie trying to find the best products. Thank God I don't have to go through that with my girls!!! Thank You Carol's Daughter for making their transition a great experience!!!
121 of 127 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Jada Symone'
Chicago, IL
Ready To Try,
I am ready to try this product. i've been a Carol Daughter's user for years, back when I had a relaxer, I used her products and it grew my hair like water and it made it healthier, but to have a product like this just in time with me going natural, I've been transitioning since November 2011 and now that it's July 2012, I'm realizing that my hair is starting to shed, more and more and my natural hair looks "healthy" cause of the constant, deep conditioners & conditioners I constantly use in my hair, and I want to cut the rest of the perm out but I have to wait till after Prom, since I am in my Senior Year of High-School, but I heard about her product on the radio, and instantly I got happy, and now... that i've read the reviews on her products, I am so excited to get my hands on her "new" products. All of Carol Daughter's lines are natural, healthy, smell good and feel good. I am a fan of her body line, and hair line for African-American Woman. Carol Daughter is a blessing from God, Honestly, cause I am a proud user of her products and I can't wait to get my hands on this "new" line and for the rest of her products a.k.a. My favorite Almond Cookie <3 #But this transition line for hair is just what I needed. Thank You Carol's Daughter.!
5 of 7 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
The best for my transitioning hair
Me an my mom just got this kit an it has done wonders for our hair mines is naturally curly even with a perm so it helped define my curls an helped my new growth look an feel great my moms hair she likes wearing her hair straight so it definatly helped out her new growth an shes trying to go natural just like me now i think anyone who is transitioning an needing a staple product should try this i defintaly will keep using it an so will my mother proberly for us once a month or twice if we can pick us up another batch an we def will thanks CD for this amazing product an it smells great :}
10 of 11 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Andrea L.
Chattanooga, TN
Loved the Conditioner in this kit
I started using CD back in February 2012 while deciding whether or not to transition. Loved the products (Rosemary Mint Shampoo/Conditioner and BV Smoothie) and my last perm was April 2012. Today, I tried the Transitioning 1-2-3 Kit. The shampoo was very light and felt great. The scalp spray felt nice, but my scalp now feels a bit dry and slightly itchy. Using olive oil to fix that. But that conditioner is AMAZING. I left it in about 30 minutes instead of the recommended 15 and my hair feels really soft and I noticed less breakage that the last time I washed my hair. I will use the rest of the kit, but I can't guarantee that I'll purchase another. But if the conditioner goes on sale by itself, I will definitely be using it.
8 of 10 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Disappointed
I have been using CD products for years now and I decided to transition back in Feb 2012. I didnt want to do the big chop because I feel long hair looks better on me. Initially I was excited about the transition kit because I wanted to start training my hair into its natural curl and texture (it never got bone straight when relaxed). The kit completely DRIED MY HAIR OUT! I will continue using other products but I do not intend to use the transitioning kit any longer or recommending it to others.
14 of 17 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
DVBaldessari
New York, NY
Didn't think it was possible! AMAZING!!!!!!
I've tried transitioning 4 times and each time I've given up and gone back to the creamy...last time I got a relaxer I actually cried I was so upset with myself. I've tried a lot of products to help style my hair when I start to go natural buy my hair always ends up tangling and then breaking off allover the place and that's why I give up. My last relaxer was in January, so I was almost 6 months without a relaxer - that's as far as I made it last time. I have used this kit for a month instead of my normal shampoo and conditioner and it's a MIRACLE. I CAN RUN MY FINGERS THROUGH BOTH TEXTURES WHEN MY HAIR IS WET AND THERE'S ALMOST NO SHEDDING WHEN I BLOW IT OUT STRAIGHT. IF YOU HAVE EVER TRIED TO GO NATURAL AND STOPPED, YOU HAVE TO GIVE THIS KIT A TRY!!!
153 of 160 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Mya
Plainfield, NJ
Love this product
After one use my natural hair was easier to comb through and there was very minimal breakage. I also left the product on my hair longer than the recommended time I feel that really helped.
35 of 37 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
aicha maillard
new york, NY
A little frustrated
I AM a carol's daughter's fan but i have to Say That i don't Know if i CAN Stay away from relaxers with this pack ! I was really excited but now i'm looking for something else because I'm very close to relax my roots !! I used this pack for a month now and my roots are really dry and tangle and i AM a Hairdresser So i always follow the directions If someone CAN help me ! Feel welcome to do it !
8 of 10 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Janel
Baton Rouge, LA
LOVE the conditioner!
This kit is pretty good as a whole, but the conditioner is phenomenal. I will be purchasing it regularly when it is available in full size! I'm not transitioning but I stretch for about 10-12 weeks when I relax so I normally experience a lot of breakage. I've been using the kit for about 2 weeks and it is so much easier to comb out my hair when I wash. The only thing I'm leery about is the exfoliating spray. I can't feel it doing anything so I don't know if it does. I've tried it as directed and before I wash, but it didn't do anything. Despite that, I am in love with the other 2 products and I would highly recommend this kit to anyone!
27 of 30 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Kel
Issaquah, WA
LOVE THIS PRODUCT
I have never written a review on products I before. But Miss Lisa's Transtion 1-2-3 kit has moved me. It is great! I have natutraly wavy/curly hair that is cut into a short pixie Rihanna mohawk shape. My hairdresser has been out of commission due to a car accident. for awhile......and I trust no one else to cut my hair. Thus I am wearing it natural. And the transition kit is helping me to maintain the health of my hair and scal! Thank you Mrs. Price and team! I have reccomended this to all my friends! I am gonna stick withit ..no back sliding to the OPIUM relaxing kit! LOL! much love!
15 of 18 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
SHELIA04
DESOTO, TX
Slow Transition
My last perm was April 2012. I was skeptical of transitioning because I just felt the "big chop" might be the only way to deal with permed hair and new growth. So, I did read all the reviews and blogged about Carol's Daughter. Everything I read impressed me so, I have decided to do a slow transition between the 1-2-3 kit and the Olive Oil Kit. So, far the Olive Oil kit has been my favorite of the two because it truly stretched my new growth. The only set back is the waiting you have to do during each step, but as I have discovered in using the kits twice now, is that the wait is well worth the end results. Now, I am just doing these sets back and forth and trying to do as many roller sets, or two-strand twist as possible(with a curling rod at the end for permed hair), until all the perm is clipped off little by little. I have decided to just stick with Carol's Daughter during my transition and not switch up. For my sulfate-free shampoo and conditioner I am using One 'n Only products. I also love the Tui leave in and Hair Balm both by Carol's Daughter.
64 of 67 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Adrianna Dowdell
Mcdonough, GA
Fabulous Tresses
I simply love this product, I recently did the "big chop" about a month ago now and I originally started by using Talian Products...but nothing compares to Carol's Daughter it emphasized my curls automatically. I especially love the shampoo it I could tell it opened and pores in my scalp and allowed them to breathe. After using the conditioning balm for the 1st time my hair stayed moisterized all day it wasn't dry and it didn't look "overly oily" it literally had a natural shine. I am so proud to see my natural hair and I have gotten so many compliments since I've made the transition. Also I would like the ladies to note that diet is very important part of transitioning as well, you want to make sure that you are taking in a lot of water as well as fruits and vegetables, for our skin and our hair exudes what we put into our bodies as well. Needless to say I am recommending this all of my friends and family who've decided to go natural, best bit of advice find the product that works best for you and your hair type and stick with it follow the regimen instructions well. Cheers to awesome and fabulous natural, hair!!!!
5 of 7 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Jennifer Musgrove
Verona, PA
Simply Awesome!
I am a beginner in the transition to natural hair. My last relaxer was April of this year and i just refused to drive to the salon and waste more time, gas and money in distance and most of all tips. Oh yeah, trying to find a stylist thats not cut happy was a must. Just sick of the whole thing and wanted a change. I was a little worried going natural since i wanted my new growth to have the same smooth/straight look plus feel as my long relaxed hair did (BSL hair). Having my new growth tangled with a weak demarcation line scared the crap out of me. After much reasearch and encourgement from other natural hair sites i stumbled onto this kit. I just tried it on my hair today and i have to say i was very impressed. Parted my hair in 4 sections and did exactly as the instructions said, had to be careful during step 2 though due to my hair getting tangled as i massaged for the full minute. I did leave step 3 on for at least 2 hours. My new growth was so soft after i washed it out. I conditioned with the black vanilla detangler and detangled with my fingers then blowed dried my hair from root to ends. The results were moist/ soft new growth. I used mizani supreme oil on each section of my hair and then flat ironed each section. I think the flat iron used also makes a difference too- i used sedu. I didnt use high heat but a medium setting and was able to blend my new growth with my relaxed locks. i am satisfied and will definitely buy this again!!!
71 of 76 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Kristina
Oxnard, CA
Amazing!
I never thought my 4a/4c could be so soft and lovely! This is the best kit ever. I watered down the Tui Hair Smoothie in a spray bottle and used that to detangle and prep my hair. Once my hair was detangled, I began the process with the kit. Now I have a nice, soft, flowy fro and I couldn't be happier. I literally threw out my other hair products. Next sale i'm buying more! Thanks CD!
4 of 5 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Tanya
Chicago, IL
Worth every penny!
I have been using this kit for 3 weeks now, and I have noticed a difference right from the start. I have 4a hair - I BCd 3 mos ago and my biggest issue was my hair is dry and brittle - I didn't like to even touch it. No more. I am usign this kit along with the leave in conditioner and my hair is so soft and moisturized - wow!!!
16 of 20 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Jane
New York, NY
OMG
I don't usually write reviews but I just had to say: Thank you Lisa Price!!!!!!! How did you knwo this is exactly what I needed?!?!?!? I am 4 months into my transition. THis is my3rd time trying, the last 2 times i gave up right around this point and went back to relaxers. I just could not get a comb thru my hair and the breakage would just make me cry. I got teh email about this new kit at just the right time - you read my mind!!! it has been 3 weeks and the difference is just amazing. I am also using the macadamia collection and I'm telling you - you can't even tell that i have 2 textures.
62 of 66 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Caroline
Columbia, MD
Excellent Product
I am relaxed and like to stretch my relaxers, I am currently 16 weeks post and this product has melted my new growth. I am very impressed with this product. Though I am not going natural I will always keep this on hand when I am stretching my relaxer. Thank you Lisa this is a great product.
11 of 16 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Francine Jenkins
Los Angeles, CA
!0 month Transitioner
I've been perm free since August 2011...i've been flat ironing and braiding my hair up ever since, i was also taking Biotin pills to grow my hair, but it was only making it more thicker than it already is lol..but then a couple months ago i started wearing braid outs and i eventually wanted to wear it curly...so i did some looking around can came across the Carols Daughter website and saw the advertising for the transitioning kit, and that maybe this would help me in my journey. So when i received it i did the first step and honestly i couldn't detangle my hair no more then what i usually could, and the 2nd step dried my hair out and made my scalp sore..and the 3rd step actually made my hair break-off more then it has ever done, i know a lil breakage is normal but it was more then the normal breakage. After using this kit, my hair seems more dry and i've seen more breakage...my hair didn't feel soft nor was it more manageable like the product said it would be....i'm not saying don't try it out because of my review because it might actually work for you. but in my case it did absolutely nothing! I'm gonna keeping using it, and maybe i'll see some results, if not then i'll just go back to the products that i was using before.... P.S. DDon't get me wrong, i love your other products. Just not this one!
9 of 11 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Jackie
jersey city, NJ
Transitioning
My hair is a 4A-C __I tried the product. I have been transitioning for 6 months now. Product one matted my relaxed section of my hair. I was could not get my fingers into that part of my hair. Now the new growth was very soft, I was like WOW!!. I put in part 2 and I did what I was to do. then part 3 my new growth was so soft and cotton like. I was in shock with the relaxed section and had to rip and try to comb out what I could. I did end up cutting out a lot of the relaxed section of my hair. That is not what I wanted to do. Overall I would use this again on my new growth hair, now that I have to get my hair cut to even it out. It did make is super soft, and springy. It is a good product, but watch out on the relaxed section of your hair test it first.
35 of 44 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Daryn Lander
NY, NY
Wonderful
I've been looking for something like this since i went natural in February! Using for 2 weeks - So far...SO GOOD!
13 of 16 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
I STILL NEED CONVINCING OF THIS OVERPRICED KIT!
I HAVE SPENT THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS ON CAROL'S DAUGHTER PRODUCTS SINCE DEC 2010 WHEN I DECIDED TO TRANSITION. I HAVE BOUGHT MANY PRODUCTS THAT SMELL GREAT, BUT DO NOT GIVE THE RESULTS I WOULD LIKE. DOES THE STEP # 2 CONTAIN ALCOHOL? IT SMELLS LIKE IT DOES, AND IT DRIES MY HAIR OUT. I WILL CONTINUE TO SUPPORT THE PRODUCTS LIKE: KHORET AMEN SMOOTHIE, TUI SMOOTHIE, AND THE MONOI LINE ARE VERY GOOD!
45 of 59 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Great Product
I started transitioning about 3mos now. I'm between a 3C/4A (still getting to know my natural curl). I was a bit skeptical at first but I must say that after my first use I could tell how well this product worked. Normally I can not detangle at the shampoo stage but was able to run my fingers through my hair and not loose a finger--no problems at all!! The spray was refreshing and the final product gave my hair a nice "slip." Between this and the BV line, my transition is effortless.
28 of 33 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
Alice
Brooklyn, NY
Just what I needed
This came along at just hte right time - i am 3 mo into my transition and needed major help. I was about to give up!!! thank you CD for giving me what I needed.
23 of 28 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Transitioner
Hi this is Shaquanna. I was very excited when I received this product but very dissapointed with the results.. I've been going natural for about 7 months now and the product did nothing for my 4c coily hair. It was not easy to comb and I got just as much shedding as I do any other time. The conditioner also did nothing for my hair. Overall I was not plesed with this product but on a more positive note, I conditioned my hair with the black vanilla hair smoothie afterwards and it was amazing! My hair was A LOT more managable and easier to comb. I also had very minimal tangling.
37 of 48 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
,
Tried did not Like
Unfortunately I will have to give the kit a big thumbs down. I am transitioning and was overjoyed when I received an email about this kit. I followed the steps and was disappointed with the outcome. It left my hair a tangled mess. I will admit the scalp spray left my scalp feeling refreshed, but I will not buy again.
8 of 9 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
norise
grand rapids, MI
questions
How long does the product last. It like a straightener ? I have been transitioning for 6months and I have been doing great so far. Also I like wearing my hair straight so this the right product for me? It sounds like a great product. Also Is this product in stores? I live in grand radpids michigan .
11 of 39 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No
goldenbutterfli
Chicago, IL
Easy to Use, Excellent Results
I went natural in 2010 but found myself discouraged and confused - i quickly reverted to a relaxer. In February 2012, i tried it again. This time, I was blessed to find the Carol's Daughter transition kit. I have color treated hair that began to feel a bit course even after using other conditioners that promised to make my hair soft, etc. (we know the claims) I cannot believe how soft my hair feels after one use. I'm a BCer about 3 months out and i LOVE the effect. The process was very easy to follow and didn't take long at all. The gentle cleanser cleansed without drying out my hair The scalp spray feels and smells refreshing with the tingly sensation that i really enjoyed The conditioner finished off the process and even a week later, left my hair completely clean, healthy looking and fresh smelling. the scent puts me in the mind of a spa treatment but its balanced, not overpowering... It has been almost a week since my first use and i can run my finger through my naturally defined coils with pride. my hair feels soft like cotton and has a natural luster that says "healthy hair" I would highly recommend the kit to anyone doing a big chop. I recently learned that a clean scalp coupled with clean and moisturized hair equals healthy hair. Carol's Daughter and the Transition Kit have mastered the concept and allowed me to take great care of my hair at home. Thank You!!!!
116 of 127 people found this useful.
Did you find this review useful? Yes No